Contracting Parties, or Member States, of the Ramsar Convention

According to Article 9.2 of the Convention on Wetlands, “Any member of the United Nations or of one of the Specialized Agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency or Party to the Statute of the International Court of Justice may become a Party to this Convention”.
Joining the Convention signals a commitment on the part of the national government to work actively to support the “three pillars” of the Convention: 1) ensuring the conservation and wise use of wetlands it has designated as Wetlands of International Importance, 2) including as far as possible the wise use of all wetlands in national environmental planning, and 3) consulting with other Parties about implementation of the Convention, especially in regard to transboundary wetlands, shared water systems, and shared species.
Any eligible country that wishes to accede to the Convention must forward its instrument of accession, signed by the head of state or government or the foreign office, to the Director General of UNESCO, and designate its first Wetland of International Importance with suitable information and a map delineating its boundaries. (UNESCO serves as the depositary for the Ramsar Convention but has no other institutional role in the Convention's governance or legal affiliations.)
List of Contracting Parties, with numbers of Ramsar Sites
Contracting Parties in order of accession

Ramsar implementing authorities in the Parties

Delivering the Ramsar Convention in your country: national focal points and their roles
Back to top
Follow us 
Ramsar Awards 

The Convention today

Number of » Contracting Parties: 168 Sites designated for the
» List of Wetlands of
International Importance
2,186 Total surface area of designated sites (hectares): 208,674,247

Ramsar Secretariat

Rue Mauverney 28
CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 22 999 0170
Fax: +41 22 999 0169
Map: click here

Ramsar Forum: subscribe